Whiskeytown – Excuse Me While I Break My Own Heart Tonight

whiskeytown-on-car-square
I wanted to give a little taste of a feature that will be coming around in a couple of days. This week I’ll start a series taking a look at the different phases of the “Alt-Country” movement, from the early days (The Byrds, Gram Parsons), to the punk-inspired era (The Replacements, X), and finally to the bright stars of the late ’90s (Wilco, Whiskeytown/Ryan Adams).

Listen, I’m not even gonna begin to hide the fact that I dig everything Ryan Adams did in Whiskeytown and is doing now on his own.  I especially love this track from Whiskeytown’s Stranger’s Almanac, which in 2008 re-released in deluxe special edition form.  If you enjoy Ryan Adams’ more country-influenced side, you’ll love everything he did in Whiskeytown.  In “Excuse Me While I Break My Own Heart Tonight”, Whiskeytown brings in another alt-country legend, Alejandro Escovedo, to take a shot at one of the verses.  Classic Whiskeytown…

Whiskeytown – Excuse Me While I Break My Own Heart Tonight

__________

Buy Stranger’s Almanac

One response to “Whiskeytown – Excuse Me While I Break My Own Heart Tonight

  1. nice.

    good luck with the new blog

Leave a Reply

